Lambert Medical Centre

Daffodil Standard accredited practice

marie curie daffodil standard logo

Lambert Medical Centre are proud to be Daffodil Standard accredited.

Introduction to the Daffodil Standards

Quite simply, the Daffodil Standards will help your whole practice team to spot areas for improvement and build on the good care you already provide. The Standards are relevant to all UK practices.

You know your patients best, and the Daffodil Standards will help you to quickly create a clear, structured approach that’s relevant to your practice, your staff and your patients.

Watch this short, introductory video to see what they’re all about:

How were they developed?

The RCGP created the Daffodil Standards in partnership with Marie Curie. Experienced GPs and healthcare professionals helped to develop the Standards.

“Making sure that patients and their families feel supported at the end of life is an essential part of what we do, and in many ways, one of the most privileged aspects of our role”
– Helen Stokes Lampard, Former Chair of the Royal College of GPs (2016-2019)

Why are they important?

  • One person dies every minute in the UK annually
  • Up to 9 bereaved people are affected by each death
  • Most people have a predictable death (60-70%)
  • 60-90% of people in the last year of life, have an informal care-giver

GPs lead the majority of care in the community for people with palliative and end of life care needs, with only a small proportion under hospice care. GPs regularly support conversations with people about ‘What Matters Most to the person and their important others’ to enable consistent personalised care and support planning. General Practice plays a key role in the delivery of end of life and bereavement care and is ideally placed to reduce variation in care, regardless of diagnosis, age, ethnic background, sexual orientation, disability or social circumstances.

How do the Daffodil Standards work?

The Standards (also known as RCGP & Marie Curie UK General Practice Core Standards for Advanced Serious Illness and End of Life Care) cover eight core areas below.

  1. Professional and competent staff
  2. Early identification
  3. Carer Support
  4. Seamless, planned, coordinated care
  5. Assessment of unique needs of the patient
  6. Quality care during the last days of life
  7. Care after death
  8. General Practice as hubs within compassionate communities

Date published: 1st December, 2023
Date last updated: 1st December, 2023